Who we are

Fairtrade Australia & New Zealand works directly with businesses, consumers and campaigners to make trade fair by securing a better deal for farmers and workers. 

The global Fairtrade system is governed by a Board of Directors and a General Assembly of members, which is comprised of 50 percent producers and 50 percent representatives from national Fairtrade organisations. You can read more about the governance of the global Fairtrade system here.

What Fairtrade Australia & New Zealand does

Fairtrade Australia & New Zealand (Fairtrade ANZ) is an active member of the global Fairtrade system and undertakes activities in the following key areas:

  • Growing demand for Fairtrade certified products and empowering producers to sell to traders and retailers on Fairtrade terms
  • Raising awareness of the need for Fairtrade in the public and the significant role of the Fairtrade Mark in making trade fair
  • Supporting producer organisations and their networks in Papua New Guinea, Timor Leste and the Pacific Islands
  • Providing independent certification of the trade chain for products, and licensing use of the Fairtrade Mark on products as a consumer assurance

Fairtrade Australia & New Zealand Governance

Fairtrade ANZ is a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) and is an Income Tax Exempt Charity.

Fairtrade ANZ has three member organisations:

Fairtrade Australia & New Zealand Board Members

Fairtrade ANZ is overseen by a board elected by Fairtrade ANZ member organisations. The board and membership of Fairtrade ANZ are independent of any commercial interests in the use of the Fairtrade Mark.

Fairtrade Australia & New Zealand's Leadership Team

  • Chief Executive Officer: Molly Harriss Olson
  • Executive Manager, Operations & Finance: Christopher Shelly
  • Business Development Director: Mirjam Groten
  • Public Engagement and Advocacy Manager: Kim Greenstone 
  • Producer Support Manager: Rachel Levine


Katherine Rich

Katherine Rich

Katherine Rich is chief executive of New Zealand Food and Grocery Council and has a range of governance roles. She also served three terms as a Member of the New Zealand Parliament between 1999 and 2008 and has a wealth of experience in marketing, economic development and the not-for-profit sector.

David Head 

BOARD - David Head

David was appointed to the board of Fairtrade ANZ in May 2016 and has more than 25 years' experience as a CEO, including roles at Pepsi, Lion Nathan, Calum Textile Group, Leigh Mardon Group and ASX listed Clean Seas Limited, where he is the managing director and CEO. David has extensive board experience with both publicly listed and privately owned companies as well as not-for-profit entities, including non-executive chairman roles in Australia, Asia and Europe.

Terence Jeyaretnam

Fairtrade ANZ board member Terence Jeyaretnam

Terence is a partner at EY in Melbourne, an environmental and sustainability specialist with over 25 years of experience in advising governments and corporations on sustainability issues. Terence founded Net Balance and Net Balance Foundation in 2006, growing the firm to Australia's largest standalone sustainability and climate change practice, twice rated along the way by BRW as one of the fastest 100 growth companies in Australia and one of the first B Corps in Australia. Net Balance was acquired by EY in 2014. Terence chairs the TCX Advisory Board and is on the boards of Food Frontier, Legal Sector Alliance and Knowledge Media.

John Buttle

Fairtrade ANZ board member John Buttle

John is an independent management consultant specialising in strategy, planning and risk management. For more than 30 years, John led the financial services practices of major accounting firms in Australia, Asia and Russia. He has a keen interest in the environment and corporate social responsibility and is a member of the board of the Sims Foundation, which supports the Sydney Institute of Marine Science. John spends a great deal of time on humanitarian causes and related charities. He was formerly chair of The Mary MacKillop Foundation, an organisation that provides support to the neediest in our society and was also formerly chair of Northern Beaches Interchange, an organisation that provides support to children and young adults with disabilities and their families.

Margaret Zabel

Fairtrade ANZ board member Margaret Zabel

Margaret is a professional company director and specialist in customer-centred business transformation, brand strategy, innovation, corporate sustainability strategy, marketing communications, customer experience and change leadership. She has 20 years of senior executive experience working across major companies and brands in FMCG, food, technology and communications industries including multinationals, ASX 100 and not-for-profits. Margaret has also served on the board of mental health charity R U OK? for five years. Margaret is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, holds an MBA from INSEAD, France and a Bachelor in Mathematics from the University of Waterloo, Canada.

Chris Davis

Fairtrade ANZ board member Christopher Davis

Chris has enjoyed a professional career of over 35 years across four continents in multiple consumer product and service segments in various marketing, commercial, general management & board roles. Chris has over 20 years of international board experience, is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a graduate of the David Syme Business School at Monash University.

John Thwaites

Fairtrade ANZ board member John Thwaites

John Thwaites is a Professorial Fellow, Monash University, and Chair of the Monash Sustainable Development Institute (winner Banksia Award Research and Academia 2018) and ClimateWorks Australia. He is also Chair of Melbourne Water and the Peter Cullen Water and Environment Trust. John is a Co-Chair of the Leadership Council of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (“SDSN”) launched by the Secretary General of the United Nations to provide expert advice and support to the development and implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals. In 2013, he was named as one of the 100 Global Sustainability Leaders by ABC Carbon Express. John was Deputy Premier of Victoria from 1999 until his retirement in 2007. 

John Hewson

 John Hewson  

John is widely known for his career in state and federal politics: as Leader of the Liberal Party, and the Federal Coalition in Opposition. He has however,  had several careers in academia, bureaucracy, business, politics, and the media. He was a Founder of Macquarie Bank, Chairman of ABN Amro Australia and Chair/Director of a host of public and private companies. John is currently a Professor in the Crawford School of Public Policy at ANU, and an Adjunct Professor at Curtin, UTS, Canberra and Griffith Universities.  He is also Chair for the Business Council for Sustainable Development Australia, BioEnergy Australia, and a Patron of the Smart Energy Council and the Ocean Nourishment Foundation as well as active in numerous charities such and non profits, such as KidsXpress. 

Molly Harriss Olson 

Molly Harriss Olson

Molly Harriss Olson is the CEO of Fairtrade Australia and New Zealand. She served nearly six years on the Board of Fairtrade International and as Chair for the final two. Recognised for her leadership on sustainable business and development for more than three decades, Ms Olson has convened, led and been a member of numerous boards, business leadership and sustainability initiatives, including The World Economic Forum’s Global Leaders of Tomorrow. In 2014 she won The Australian Financial Review and Westpac 100 Women of Influence Award. Ms Olson worked at the White House as the founding Executive Director of the President’s Council on Sustainable Development, appointed by President Clinton in 1993.